The Kathy Goldfarb-Findling Leadership Award

The nomination period for the Kathy Goldfarb-Findling Leadership Award is now closed.  The honor will be announced on November 5, 2015.

To learn more about Ms. Kathy Goldfarb-Findling, please view this short video.

Previous winners of “The Kathy” are Michael Melara of Catholic Charities, Mary Ellen Clausen of Ophelia’s Place, Mary Beth Frey of the Samaritan Center, Randi Bregman of Vera House and Kerry Quaglia of Home HeadQuarters.

The Kathy Award

“The Kathy” is short for the Kathy Goldfarb-Findling Leadership Award, jointly sponsored by the Gifford and Allyn Foundations. It is named for the Gifford Foundation’s late executive director who also served as the Allyn Foundation’s director of strategic services. It is awarded periodically to a Central New York (Onondaga, Oswego, Madison and Cayuga counties) not-for-profit professional who best exemplifies Ms. Goldfarb-Findling’s approach to leadership: 

·        to be nimble and creative;

·        to encourage lifelong learning;

·        to embrace leaps of faith and not fear failure;

·        to work “with” not do “for;”

·        to fully engage in collaborative approaches and

·        to at all times believe passionately in the power of change and personal growth.

In addition to recognizing and publicly honoring vital nonprofit leaders who are truly unique, a monetary award will be available for the personal use of the recipient. The only restriction is that the honoree may not re-direct the cash to his or her organization.

The selection process

Nominations are reviewed by a selection committee comprised of Gifford and Allyn Foundation staff, board members and previous awardees. Nominees do not need to be CEOs or executive directors – the leadership qualities, as described in more detail below, are of paramount importance. Therefore the nominator should be able to describe with specific examples, from both personal and professional aspects, why the nominee exemplifies the qualities listed above.

The selection criteria

We believe that “The Kathy” award is unique in that it celebrates leadership qualities that go beyond degrees, awards, connections and accomplishments of either a personal or professional nature. It is the quality of the personal interactions, and the openness to change and creative progress, that is most important to the selection committee. Nominators are encouraged to share stories in a similar vein.



Kathy signature first name

Sign up to receive periodic updates from Gifford

  • Gifford Foundation on TwitterOur newsletter is out! link
  • Gifford Foundation on TwitterRT @AGoodLifeFound: @GiffordCNY We are honored and blessed to be identified as POWERful! We're here 2 create change thanks to your help! ht…
  • Gifford Foundation on TwitterRT @DavidsRefuge: Thank you @GiffordCNY for breathing life into @DavidsRefuge so we can breath life into parents we serve #caringforthecare…
  • Gifford Foundation on TwitterLooking forward to crowdfunding & community workshop w/ @oiby & @cnycf link link
  • Gifford Foundation on TwitterCrowdfunding and Community Engagement - free workshop for nonprofits and community groups! link